top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetyresejwalters

teaching and learning videos post #1

"up the down staircase - a tale of two cities"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=152&v=0vuQIAiYG6U

"school of rock - classroom leadership scene"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yMvpJDbWX_c


This video struck me as interesting. I like the way the teacher approaches the analysis and understanding of the literature. My interest in literature and urged me to analyze this piece because it might help me with my understanding of how to teach literature to others and also continue to further my understanding how to teach. The teacher is doing a class reading of "A Tale of Two Cities" and she starts by getting the class to read sections of the novel in chronological order from the beginning, whilst interjecting and asking them for their own personal analysis and invoking conversation within the class with an open platform at which they can share their ideas freely. This is a lot similar to how the Teaching and Learning Music course is structured and I love the way it works. It adds the responsibility to the students to speak up about their opinions and what they understand in an open platform without outright forcing them to share something. I think it's super important to enforce that standard of engagement within a classroom at a young age as it becomes more important to take initiative in understanding what you're hearing and initiating conversation with our peers. In addition, the teacher also asks the students about why they gave they answer they shared in order to create genuine conversation with the whole class. The questions get much deeper to help the students want to defend their own points and be heard in the class which, I believe, is the teachers goal at this point. I would love for my students to be fully engaged in conversation and debate (in a respectful way, of course) because that means that they are able to take the information they're reading and put it into their own context and life. That in itself is important for the consumption and analysis of information. In a musical (and rather comedic setting), the School of Rock classroom leadership scene showcases teaching that isn't inherently good or bad (I mean, it IS a comedy). In addition, he is teaching a younger population than the previous video. I think his means of teaching music to the kids was interesting. He took them out of the classical aspect of their ability and helped them apply it to a rock-style genre through an approach that seems appropriate to their age. He would play/demonstrate for them and they would replicate it back. Of course, this is scripted and staged so I don't think that this would naturally happen so quickly in real life however I think there is some rhyme and reason to it; telling them to just adjust to this tone without showing any way of replication probably wouldn't work for a group of young students who are new to their instruments. This clip speaks to me because I feel like my best setting in the classroom lays with secondary education, however this methodology of teaching and the ideas presented (avoiding the use of the word execution) seems to interest me because it would prompt me to learn more about the psychological development of young children and understand how this may or may not benefit them. In my previous knowledge, I understand that visual aids are the best way to help young kids succeed in the classroom as it can stimulate their mind and sensory/memory better than if you speak words at them and expect them to be able to physically replicate what you're explaining (i.e. playing a bass vs. cello). This shows some good ideology that I think many could take away into their classrooms or furthering their understanding of teaching and learning.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Modern Band

The Modern Band workshop with Little Kids Rock was equally as insightful as it was fun, in my opinion. I really enjoyed the energy and level of enthusiasm that not only the students brought, but also

Popular music and Modern Band Principles

I think it is interesting how “popular” musics is being implemented into classrooms. The way that they modeled modern band principles is the same as how we demonstrated the learning of the song Royals

Isolation in Music Studio Teaching: Response

Isolation in Music Studio Teaching: Response This article opened up my eyes to a different understanding to studio teaching. I never really considered how many factors go into the education of my appl

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page